Homemade All Natural Lip Balm

IMG_6945

The Green Bunny Homemade All Natural Lip Balm

Lip balm is essential in my purse, I like keeping my lips moist and juicy (haha :P). But do you know a lot of lip balms use petroleum as their base ingredient?

Why petroleum is not good?

  • There are no real hydrating benefits.
  • It only seals in moisture to the lips.
  • It stops the skin of the lips from breathing while sealing in bacteria
  • Petroleum only coat for skin/lips that it will not be absorbed.
  • By locking moisture against the skin, mineral oil sits on the skin’s surface and can potentially block pores. This may cause the appearance of pimples because the skin cannot ‘breath’.
  • It’s only a short term solution for dry skin. And in long run, it can make your lips more chapped.
  • Petroleum is made from fossil fuels, using petroleum products means using more fossil fuels
  • It’s only popular with manufacturers because they are cheap

I used the shea butter base moisturizer as my lip balm, and I store it in a sample size container. Because it’s shea butter base, the texture will change depends on the temperature and it melts when it’s hot.

I always wanna try to make lip balms in tubes because it’s easier to put on lips and I don’t have to clean my hands before I put it on! =P

This is my first time making lip balms in tubes for my church fundraiser, and I made around 50 tubes!

Recipe for making around 20 tubes

Ingredients:

From left to right: Lavender Oil, Vitamin E Oil, Almond Oil, Beeswax, Shea Butter

From left to right: Lavender Oil, Vitamin E Oil, Almond Oil, Beeswax, Shea Butter

  • 2 tbs Beeswax
  • 2 tbs Shea Butter (I tried using 1 tbs Cocoa butter and 1 tbs Shea butter)
  • 4 tbs Almond Oil (You can use other type of oil)
  • ¼ tsp Vitamin E oil (Optional, I added it just to make it more luxury)
  • ¼ tsp Essential Oil of your choice (I tried using Lavender Oil and Grapefruit Oil separately)

Preparation:

  1. For people like me, who doesn’t have a double boiler, I used a regular pot to boil water and place a bowl in the pot in low heat.
  2. Place tubes in a container and use paper towel to keep tubes stay well.
    IMG_6833

Directions:

1. Melt beeswax in the double boiler or the bowl.
IMG_6839
2. Add Shea Butter, Almond Oil and Vitamin E oil into the melted beeswax.
IMG_6840
3. Keep stirring with a whisk.

4. Remove from heat once everything melted.

5. Whisk in essential oils.

6. Transfer the liquid to a measuring cup or a container with a pour spout and pour it into lip balm tubes.
IMG_6841
7. Wait for the lip balms to become solid.
IMG_6843

8. Enjoy your all natural homemade lip balms!
IMAG3275

Tips:

  • I found that the mixture cools down and turns into solid so fast.
  • Once mixture cools down and turns into solid while you are pouring, you have to reheat and melt the mixture again…that’s annoying and time consuming.
  • I decided to use the measuring cup as the container when I was melting and mixing ingredients. It skips the step for transferring from one container to another.

If you are interested in buying The Green Bunny Homemade and natural lip balm, please visit The Green Bunny Fan page!

Leave a comment